top of page
Hands Together


StandUP AJ is a substance abuse prevention coalition

Represented on the coalition:

  • AJ Police Department


  • AJ City Council

  • Axiom Care of AZ

  • AYP

  • City of AJ Parks & Rec

  • DARE

  • Horizon Health and Wellness

  • Independent News

  • Intensive Treatment Centers of AZ

  • Love Gospel Church

  • PAL (Parents of Addicted Loved Ones)

  • Pinal County Adult and Juvenile Probation

  • Pinal County Attorneys Office

  • Pinal County Public Health

  • Rhino Recreation 

  • Superstition Mtn Fire and Rescue

  • CAAFA/New Leaf

  • LaFrontera/Empact


Established in July of 2020, StandUP AJ is a group of community members and organizations that share the common desire and goal of preventing substance misuse in our beloved community of Apache Junction.  With our dedication, hard work, and collaborative efforts we strive to do just that.  It is our own community driven empowerment that will help a thriving, healthy Apache Junction community rise to the top! 

Shelly Verley

Copy of Shelly Verley, Coordinator.jpg


Scott Smith

Chair of StandUP AJ

Treatment Specialist, Pinal County Adult Probation

Susan White

Vice Chair of StandUP AJ

Overdose/Opioid/Suicide Mortality Review Program Manager
Pinal County Public Health

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Allen Villalobos

Copy of Alllen Villalobos, Treasurer.JPG.jpg

Treasurer of StandUP AJ

CEO, United Way of Pinal County

Karen Shogren

Copy of Karen Shogren, Secretary.jpg

Secretary of StandUP AJ

Program Coordinator, Treasure Hunter, Pinal County Juvenile Courts

Mike Harding

Copy of Mike Harding, Co-Chair Education_Outreach Committee.jpg

Chair, Education Outreach Committee

Pastor, Love Gospel Church

Additional Support

  • Arizona Counter Drug Task Force

  • Tempe Coalition

  • Tempe Community Council

  • Joronda Montano (Mentor)

  • Bernadette Coggins (Mentor)

Other Coalitions

Casa Grande Alliance

Copper Corridor

Mesa Prevention Alliance

Member of:

Apache Junction Area Chamber of Commerce

Substance Abuse Coalition Leaders of Arizona

bottom of page